Home

Illustrations for my ICGG2014 paper

February 17, 2014

I’ve written a paper for the ICGG2014 conference to go with my talk. It mostly talks about the theoretical side of things, whereas the talk is going to focus on the pragmatic. In case they won’t accept it I’ll post it here soon, but if they do then it will be available online sometime after the conference.

Over the past few years I’ve grown increasingly tired of slick computer generated graphics. They all too often fail to draw attention to salient details and convey meaning. It’s rare these days that I get to make large illustrations, most of my graphic work is for icons, so I do try and savour it when I get the chance. I’ve put the 10 images I drew for this publication below the fold (with LaTeX overlays and captions).

figure1

figure2

figure3

figure4

figure5

figure6

figure7

figure8

figure9

figure10

5 Responses to “Illustrations for my ICGG2014 paper”


  1. This nice drawings reminded me of Conrad Waddington. Needless to say, I am looking forward to reading your paper.

  2. oat Says:

    Hi, David, I appreciate your appreciation of hand-drawings as a way of exploration of thoughts which links body and mind directly. As the creator of a modeling tool for fancy form generation and process building, your intentional detachment is admirable! – J

  3. Nick Cecchi Says:

    Also reminds me of the illustrations in Earth Moves by Bernard Cache.
    Very nice.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 163 other followers

